Fail-eo

So normally I write on here about books, and games, and overall geek stuff. Well really, I haven’t posted in a while, so I’m going to take a little bit of a different turn with this post.

As some of you know, I decided at the beginning of the month that I was going to give eating Paleo a swing. I would do it for a month, then ease up while at GenCon (because ZEST!). If I liked it, and did well with it, I’d get back on track with it after my vacation.

Well so far, so good. Until today. Today really illustrated to me a big part of my relationship with food, and how my brain is wired to want the junk. So far, I’d cooked a ton of delicious wonderful real foods. I’d stayed away from the crap, and even resisted the siren calls of donuts and Chick-Fil-A and the cheesecake brownie a well-meaning client brought for me. I brought my own food to a friend’s swim party, and even though I broke down and split a slice of pizza with Natty Ultra, I didn’t feel guilty (probably because I was in the pool for two hours). So what changed today?

I ate well for breakfast, leftover frittata, and lounged around a bit before going out shopping. Mistake #1 was not eating more before I left. Mistake #2 was not having water or snacks on hand when I knew I would be out for a while. Mistake #3 was shopping for food, after everything else. I was starving. So that brings us to mistake #4: Long John Silvers.

Ugh.

You would think that after just ten days of eating whole foods, it wouldn’t be such a big shock going back to the old habits. But damn, that food tasted horrible. And it sat in my stomach like a rock. I even got a Pepsi. And it was like fizzy syrup. Which is basically what it is anyway, but to me soda had always been the best beverage in the world. Not anymore.ljs

I realized while eating my crappy food and feeling worse and worse why I broke down and got it in the first place. When I was a kid, going out and running errands usually meant cheeseburgers. My PopPop always got me Burger King every Monday after school. When I got older and was running around on my own, with my own money, a trip out shopping always meant that I brought something home to eat, because of course after all that shopping I’d be too hungry to cook when I got home. And that’s what I felt today. I thought about it and actually salivated at the thought of coming home with my prizes (including, ironically, an immersion blender to make Paleo mayo) and having some fries and a soda while I played video games.

How disappointing.

Now this is good eating!

Now this is good eating!

So I made up for it tonight by mad cooking. I marinated chicken for tomorrow’s dinner, and whipped up some Maple Spiced Walnuts and Proscuitto-Wrapped Frittata Muffins from the Nom Nom Paleo cookbook (which is awesome. Her blog is great too!). Oh and I made paleo Strawberry Lemonade too.

Back on track for now, but I have definitely learned a lot today. BE PREPARED. And keep nuts in your purse.

(I still love cheeseburgers though.)

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

